Book Reviews · Uncategorized · Young Adult Book Reviews

Belles | Five Minute Review

Belles (Belles, #1)Title: Belles
Author: Jen Calonita
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Series: Belles Trilogy
Published On: April 10, 2012
Publisher: Poppy
Pages: 356
Format: Hardcover
Source: Bought
ISBN: 0316091138
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

Fifteen-year-old Isabelle Scott loves her life by the boardwalk on the supposed wrong side of the tracks in   North Carolina. But when tragedy strikes, a social worker sends her to live with a long-lost uncle and his preppy     privileged family. Isabelle is taken away from everything she’s ever known, and, unfortunately, inserting her into the glamorous lifestyle of Emerald Cove doesn’t go so well. Her cousin Mirabelle Monroe isn’t thrilled to share her life with an outsider, and, in addition to dealing with all the rumors and backstabbing that lurk beneath their classmates’ Southern charm, a secret is unfolding that will change both girls’ lives forever.

add-to-goodreads-button

I had no expectations for this book, I’ll admit it. I fell in love with Calonita’s work when I read Secrets of My Hollywood Life, a story about a Hollywood starlet torn between her closet of designer shoes and the allure of a normal life. I knew Izzie and Miras’ story would never add up to Kaitlin Burke’s and, sadly, I was right.

Belles is told from two perspectives, Izzy, a girl who teaches swim lessons at the community center, and Mira, the daughter of a sports star turned senator. They must learn to co-exist when social services plucks Izzy from her grandmother’s custody and thrusts her into a world of over-priced throw pillows and condescending southern accents.

Though I lacked expectations going into this I was still disappointed. I figured out each plot twist before it happened and the massive secret? Give me some credit; I figured that out while I waited in line at my local bookstore.

 

Tell us what you think:

