Book Reviews · Uncategorized · Young Adult Book Reviews

Lock and Key | Five Minute Review

image

Rating: 4.5 (Out Of Five)

Hardcover, 422 pages
Published: April 22nd 2008 by Viking’s Children’s Books
Original Title: Lock and Key
ISBN: 067001088X (ISBN13: 9780670010882)
Edition Language English

Synopsis:

Ruby, where is your mother?Ruby knows that the game is up. For the past few months, she’s been on her own in the yellow house, managing somehow, knowing that her mother will probably never return.

That’s how she comes to live with Cora, the sister she hasn’t seen in ten years, and Cora’s husband Jamie, whose down-to-earth demeanor makes it hard for Ruby to believe he founded the most popular networking Web site around. A luxurious house, fancy private school, a new wardrobe, the promise of college and a future; it’s a dream come true. So why is Ruby such a reluctant Cinderella, wary and defensive? And why is Nate, the genial boy next door with some secrets of his own, unable to accept the help that Ruby is just learning to give?

Book Review: 

This book was an awesome summer read. I always walk away from Sarah Dessen’s books thinking about how she always hits teenager’s emotions right on the nose. She has an amazing talent… I am envious.

I enjoyed the main characters, but fell in love with Jamie within the first few chapters. He, in my opinion, made the entire book. He was so funny, yet so realistic in his own way. His voice let in that little bit of humor that Dexter (This Lullaby) had whenever the book was getting a little to serious.

Ruby Cooper was serious, as most of Dessen’s main characters are, and at times was a little annoying. I did however love how she took it on herself to find out who Nate really was, and the way she could relate but didn’t suffocate him, that was very well written. Her emotions were true and I could feel them coming off the page.

Sarah Dessen has a way of making her characters stick with me and that is something i cherish in any author. Her talent baffles me and, as mentioned before, I am envious.

-Jordan

3 thoughts on “Lock and Key | Five Minute Review

  1. Dessen is definitely one of my favorite authors! The only book I haven’t read is This Lullaby which is a long story involving a missing audiobook, but I have a paperback copy on its way right now! I wasn’t as fond of Lock & Key as I was some of her other books, but I too enjoyed Jamie’s character!

    Like

Tell us what you think:

