Book Reviews · Uncategorized · Young Adult Book Reviews

The Elite | Five Minute Review

16248068

I wasn’t going to post a review on this book. I planned to wait until The One (which releases in May 2014) came out and I could do an entire series review. But decided to write this post so (if we are being honest here) I could remember and be able to write a series review in May!!!

The Elite is a continuation of Kiera Cass’ The Selection, the second book in the Selection Trilogy. It follows America as the six remaining girls compete for Prince Maxon’s heart:

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.

I rated this book Four (4) out of Five (5) Stars. It was a great addition to the trilogy. I found that America amused me more in the first book. In the Elite it seemed she was put in a harsher light. I liked how it worked out in the end though.

I love a happy ending but cannot see how Mrs. Cass is going to pull off a happily ever after. Maxon seems like a likely choice. Aspen has gotten on my nerves more in this book than in the last. I liked Aspen in the beginning of the trilogy but over all I give him a thumbs down. I truly hope America goes with Maxon. Maxon was put in a more compassionate light. I wasnt sure who i would choose at the beginning of this book but the choice became clear near the ending of the book.

Tell us what you think:

