Book Reviews · Uncategorized · Young Adult Book Reviews

The Selection | Five Minute Review

Hardcover, 336 pages
Published: April 24th 2012 by HarperTeen
Original Title: The Selection (The Selection, #1)
ISBN: 0062059939 (ISBN13: 9780062059932)
Edition Language: English
Series: The Selection #1

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself–and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Let me start off by saying this book was the first Dystopain book I ever read. I was kind of wary at first, but then the three main characters swooped and and took my worries away in a flurry of drama. This book could not have been any better.

There was so much going on, between moving to the palace, to her heartbreaking breakup. This book was full of everything I look for in a Contemporary Romance, just with a Dystopian twist.

I think Kiera Cass (even though I often spell her name e then i) was meant to tell stories, particularly this story. From the beginning I was waiting to see what happened, it was SOOOO good. Her only downfall was not making it an endless stream of words in order for the book to never end. Did I say I loved this book? Because if I didn’t, I do. It was awesome.

-Jordan

Tell us what you think:

