Uncategorized

Showcase Saturday

Today is Saturday and that means it’s time for me to show you one of my favorite covers of ALL time. There are many beautiful covers out there. There are whimsical covers and even some dark mysterious covers. Book covers are meant to catch your eye. They are supposed to make you pick up the book and forge a relationship with it, right there in the bookstore. There are a lot of books out there so, when I’m tired, I will go book shopping and specifically pick up a book based on it’s cover. It isn’t everyday I buy a book based on it’s cover but the first thing that makes me pick up a book is the cover. That brings us to this weeks cover.

Saving Juliet by Suzanne Selfors.

Synospis: Seventeen-year-old Mimi Wallingford, of the Broadway Wallingfords, has a life most girls can only dream of—complete with the starring role in her family’s production of Romeo and Juliet.  But acting is not her dream, and she’s fighting for the right to trade her script for a scalpel and become a doctor.

Fourteen-year-old Juliet Capulet, of the Verona Capulets, has lived a lonely life—imprisoned by the feud that consumes her family and by her iron-fisted mother’s forcing her into an unwanted marriage.  She will do anything to avoid her betrothed, even if it requires faking a boil on her bottom—or something more dangerous.

During the play’s final performance, Mimi’s wish to get away actually comes true when she and her heartthrob costar, Troy Summer, are magically transported into Shakespeare’s Verona. Now that she knows the real Juliet, Mimi doesn’t want to stand by and allow the play to reach its tragic end.  But if saving her new friend means changing the ending of the greatest love story of all time, will she and Troy ever make it back to Broadway? 

I love this cover because of it’s humor. It is hilarious. Juilet is popping a bubble and has sunglasses on the cover of her dress. this cover conveys the humor written in it’s pages. This book is a perfect example of buying a book based on it’s cover. I bought this book strictly for the cover and it didn’t come back to bite me! Well, not yet, I just started it -but it is so good!

-Jordan

7 thoughts on “Showcase Saturday

    1. It’s really good so far. I’m enjoying it. 🙂 I love that it’s written in dual perspective. I didn’t realize that when I picked it up off my shelf!!

      Thanks for visiting.
      -Jordan

      Like

  1. Ooh…this one looks really unique – not your typical historical fiction novel, eh? 😉 But I’m really glad you’re enjoying it so far Jordan! Looking forward to reading your review! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. I don’t usually read historical fiction, but I’m trying new things in 2014 and this seemed like the perfect stepping stone!

      I will surely write a review once I finish it. Thanks for the words of encouragement!

      Like

Tell us what you think:

