Uncategorized

Discussion | Where I Read

This is hard for me. Finding time to read, actually sitting down and reading. It’s harder because of school, homework, social media, life. It isn’t easy being a girl (or guy) in today’s day and age. But you make do. You always make do. So today we are going to talk about “Where I Read” The title says it all. Where do you read? When do you read? Is it easier to read at night before you go to bed, when your (gasp) in the bathroom, or do you like to read all day any day (you have no life and can read whenever you want.) You can comment below and give your honest answer.

I always read in bed, sometimes on my couch, but usually in bed -right before I turn the lights out. Here is a picture of the disaster, my nightstand:

bedside tableΒ I have a cheetah lamp and my i-Pod dock on top with a plaque that has an inspirational *wink* quote on it. Below that are two drawers. One holds my book swag, one of many bibles and my glasses while the other one is dedicated to two journals and my planner. Underneath there is a stack of books that I’m hoping to read this month. πŸ™‚

My nightstand is worse for wear but I love it. It was given to me by my Nana. I had been searching for MONTHS to find a good bedside table and she wasn’t using this one anymore. It’s perfect. I have a mattress and a box spring on my bed so I needed something very tall.

We aren’t here to do a room tour, though. The reason I am showing you this is because I love my nightstand, no seriously, this is something I use whenever I read. I keep the books I’m planning on/currently reading and, also, I didn’t really feel like fluffing my pillows and showing you my bed. πŸ˜›

The reason I called it a disaster is because it usually doesn’t look like this. It is VERY messy on a day to day basis, gum wrappers, (more specifically fruit roll-up wrappers) a water glass, my phone, my i-Pod and so forth. I live in my bed… well, I spend a lot of time at my desk too. It’s a hand toss. πŸ˜›

I like reading at night because it helps me wind down after a long hard day, it gives me something to take my mind off of when something worries me. It is the best time of day for me. When is the best time of day for you?

-Jordan

7 thoughts on “Discussion | Where I Read

  1. I read…whenever I find the time, really. My parents put in a “quiet time”, where basically me and all my siblings have to read an hour before bed, so I do some reading then, but that’s the only schedule. Sometimes I read early in the morning (also in bed), but only a little. I also try to read my Bible at night before I go to bed, if I’m not too exhausted. I will admit, I have fallen asleep while reading my Bible. I was reading Numbers, though, so I hope it’s a little understandable…

    As for where I read, probably just the couch. Sometimes at the table, sometimes in bed, but usually at the couch. I actually read a little outside yesterday, but the sun was a little too bright for comfort.

    Like

    1. I can never seem to find the time… I spend WAY TO MUCH time on the computer though. I should probably cut back. πŸ™‚

      It’s great you have time to read everyday. My mom did that when we were younger but as we grew up it kind of phased out.

      Like

      1. Heh, me too. I actually haven’t had much time to read at all the past month, until…yesterday. I was really bored yesterday morning, so I read.

        Hehe, yeah. I think the biggest reason my parents do that is so that they have some quiet time to themselves in the evening, for them to calm down. After all, there’s five children in this house and it can get pretty chaotic.

        Like

      2. That’s my mother’s dream. She told me and my sister, years ago, that we had to have five kids each. No less -more is okay. She wants a big Christmas.
        I, personally, don’t think she remembered the checkbook. The poor thing.The checkbook not my mom, she is delusional though. πŸ™‚ My mom, not the checkbook. Confused yet? πŸ˜›

        Like

  2. I actually do read in the bathroom – on the rare occasion that a book is so good that I can’t be parted from it. ;] But more often than not, these days anyway, I read in bed, making progress little by little. I have to be careful about it, though, because if it’s really good and I’m readin’ at night, I’ll stay up way later than I’m supposed to, which can get messy because I have to wake up pretty early for work during the week haha.

    Like

Tell us what you think:

