Book Reviews · Uncategorized · Young Adult Book Reviews

Love & Leftovers | Five Minute Review

Hardcover, 432 pages
Published: December 27th 2011 by Katherine Tegen Books
Original Title: Love & Leftovers
ISBN: 0062023586 (ISBN13: 9780062023582)
Edition Language: English
Personal Rating: Two (2) Stars
Favorite This Review On Goodreads

::Synopsis::

My wish is to fall cranium over Converse in dizzy daydream-worthy love.

(If only it were that easy.

Marcie has been dragged away from home for the summer—from Idaho to a family summerhouse in New Hampshire. She’s left behind her friends, a group of freaks and geeks called the Leftovers, including her emo-rocker boyfriend, and her father.

By the time Labor Day rolls around, Marcie suspects this “summer vacation” has become permanent. She has to start at a new school, and there she leaves behind her Leftover status when a cute boy brings her breakfast and a new romance heats up. But understanding love, especially when you’ve watched your parents’ affections end, is elusive. What does it feel like, really? Can you even know it until you’ve lost it?

Love & Leftovers is a beautifully written story of one girl’s journey navigating family, friends, and love, and a compelling and sexy read that teens will gobble up whole.

::Review:: 

One of the main parts of the book was her gay dad. I don’t care for those type of books. When I bought it off the Book Outlet it didn’t mention it and I never looked closely at the Goodreads Page. I wouldn’t buy this book again nor will I, probably, ever pick it up and reread it.

I rated this book Two Stars. It wasn’t great. In fact, it was quite negative. Even though Marcie found where she was supposed to be, in the end it comes down to morals and, as a reader, I just wouldn’t have bought it to begin with if I had known someone who had. The overall story was slow and the main character flip-flopped between two love interests. She didn’t make her mind up until half the book was written and even then the story didn’t feel completely resolved.

It would have taken me two days to finish this book but I put it down until the twenty-ninth of March where I finished the last sixty pages. I couldn’t put myself in the  negative characters shoes, I was unable to relate to Marcie. She was dry and had a one dimensional personality. Her sarcasm felt off-beat and her lack of emotion was unnerving.

This book does have some ADULT CONTENT. There are parts middle grade students shouldn’t read. 

 

8 thoughts on “Love & Leftovers | Five Minute Review

    1. Hi, Ann!! Kiwi asked me if if it was okay for you to join our google hangout, for words prints and such through nano… And hopefully after!! I thought I had, I hope I didn’t offend you. If you have downloaded google hangout just give me your email and I’ll add you. I’ll delete this post afterwards so no one else can see it.

      Like

  1. I hardly ever buy books unless I’ve already read and loved them, it stinks when you pay for a book and then hate it. This one has been on my TBR forever but I think I’ll be removing it now. I hate when a character flip flops between two love interests =P

    Like

Tell us what you think:

