Book Reviews · Uncategorized · Young Adult Book Reviews

Don’t Even Think About It | Five Minute Review

17560541Hardcover, 336 pages
Published: March 11th 2014 by Delacorte Press
Original Title: Don’t Even Think About It
ISBN: 0385737386 (ISBN13: 9780385737388)
Edition Language: English
Series: Don’t Even Think About It #1

Personal Rating: Five (5) out of Five (5) Stars

Favorite this review on Goodreads!

Contemporary teen fiction with romance, secrets, scandals, and ESP from the author of Ten Things We Did (And Probably Shouldn’t Have).

We weren’t always like this. We used to be average New York City high school sophomores. Until our homeroom went for flu shots. We were prepared for some side effects. Maybe a headache. Maybe a sore arm. We definitely didn’t expect to get telepathic powers. But suddenly we could hear what everyone was thinking. Our friends. Our parents. Our crushes. Now we all know that Tess is in love with her best friend, Teddy. That Mackenzie cheated on Cooper. That, um, Nurse Carmichael used to be a stripper.

Since we’ve kept our freakish skill a secret, we can sit next to the class brainiac and ace our tests. We can dump our boyfriends right before they dump us. We know what our friends really think of our jeans, our breath, our new bangs. We always know what’s coming. Some of us will thrive. Some of us will crack. None of us will ever be the same.
So stop obsessing about your ex. We’re always listening.

Don’t Even Think About It by Sarah Mlynowski was incredible. There isn’t much more to say. The character’s jumped off the page. The fact that this book followed a multitude of characters, it was very easy to understand. I’m a can’t-get-it-in-the-first-ten-pages-I’m-done kinda girl. This was not one of those books.

Such a stellar story. I cannot say enough about this book. I will admit I was hesitant to begin this book. I didn’t think it could add up to Sarah Mlynowski’s Magic In Manhattan Series, but this book was in a different field, an entirely different league (you’re welcome, Cooper) than that series. It was light, it was fun, it took me THREE HOURS. SUCH A GOOD BOOK!! This is one of those books I will always remember, when I’m in the bathtub planning a blog post, playing on my i-Phone, using GermX excessively, even when I’m old and grey. (Let’s hope I make it, my dad says I’m lucky to still be here. My mouth gets me into some tight spots.) This is one of those memorable books. An ingenious work of YA Literature. I can’t image my shelves without it!

5 thoughts on “Don’t Even Think About It | Five Minute Review

  1. I’m suprised to hear so many raving reviews of this book! When I read the synopsis, I wasn’t too interested, and the cover didn’t grab me either. I might need to reconsider my decision not to read this one! Telepathic powers sounds interesting, especially in the high school setting!

    Like

    1. It was an amazing book. I cannot wait for the sequel. An entire year, Ugggh! The book stood out to me because it isn’t set in a supernatural world, it is set in more of a contemporary setting.

      Like

  2. Yeah I have my reservations about this one too but now I’m really curious-I think I may like it! I usually don’t like books with a lot of characters to keep track of but if it works, I guess it won’t be a problem!

    Like

Tell us what you think:

