Book Reviews · Uncategorized · Young Adult Book Reviews

When It Happens | Five Minute Review

781046

Hardcover, 287 pages
Published: May 4th 2006 by Viking Juvenile
Original Title: When It Happens
ISBN: 0670060291 (ISBN13: 9780670060290)
Edition Language: English
Personal Rating: Three (3) Out Of Five (5) Stars

At the start of her senior year in high school, Sara wants two things: to get into a top college and to find true love.Tobey also wants two things for his senior year: to win Battle of the Bands and to make Sara fall in love with him. However, a popular jock named Dave moves in on Sara first. But Tobey’s quirky wit and big blue eyes are hard for Sara to ignore. Plus, he gets the little things that matter to her. Can a slacker rock-star wannabe win the heart of a pretty class brain like Sara?

When It Happens by Susane Colasanti is one of those books you always remember, for me anyway. I love the two alternating perspectives and really enjoyed Sara’s true voice. I could have  done without Toby’s true voice. It was one of those times where the character is too real. Do you know what I mean? These characters began to feel like they were in reality. Normally I wouldn’t mind that. Normally I would welcome that. But in this instance, I did not like the true voice of a teenage boy.  It never felt forced, I can tell you that, I just with it wouldn’t have been so dead on.

I know this sounds weird, a a reader you want something real, but I couldn’t stand how Toby and his friends talked about girls. The was, at times, they degraded them. I just couldn’t comprehend when they were being such jerks. I get they are teenagers, I get that they are boys. That doesn’t mean I have to like it.

The other aspects of the book didn’t bother me as much. I loved Toby and Sara’s  relationship. I welcomed it. This was one of those books you just really want the characters to get together because nothing else in life as worked out for them.

I really enjoyed watching Toby’s dream as a musician unfoled and I really loved how Sara became hyper aware that she had ZERO life. All in all I gave this book a three out of five stars. I really enjoyed it, but felt like the dialogue just didn’t quite mesh well with me.

-Jordan

One thought on “When It Happens | Five Minute Review

Tell us what you think:

