Uncategorized

Flashback Friday #3 | April 11, 2014

Flashback Friday on Swoony Boys Podcast and Fiction FareWhat is Flashback Friday you ask?
I know… I know… As if you don’t have a million and one memes to follow! BUT we’re hoping that you might want to participate in just one more!
If you’re like us, you read a lot… you add a ton to your ‘to be read’ lists and you sometimes forget about some amazing things because they get pushed down either your favorites list or that pile of books you need to read. That doesn’t mean those books are no less amazing!
This is a way for us to highlight books that are older that maybe don’t get as much recognition now because they have been out for a while. Books that we read and loved or books that have been on our To Be Read lists for ages, but we just haven’t gotten around to them yet.
On to the details – Pick a book… any book that meets the following criteria:
1. Must have been published at least 2 years ago or
2. Preferably is still in print or available to read

7359549Hardcover, 345 pages
Published: May 27th 2002 by Viking Juvenile
Original Title: This Lullaby
ISBN: 0670035300 (ISBN13: 9780670035304)
Edition Language: English

When it comes to relationships, Remy doesn’t mess around. After all, she’s learned all there is to know from her mother, who’s currently working on husband number five. But there’s something about Dexter that seems to defy all of Remy’s rules. He certainly doesn’t seem like Mr. Right. For some reason, however, Remy just can’t seem to shake him. Could it be that Remy’s starting to understand what those love songs are all about?

I love Sarah Dessen’s books (don’t ask me why my TBR shelf is flooded with her works) but my all time favorite male protagonist is also from one of her books. This Lullaby. I enjoyed this book so much, but Dexter made it worth wild.

He made me laugh, he made me cry, he was the whole package. I loved his sense of humor. Oh, but his hair! It annoyed me. But I knew I could get him to cut it. (you know, after he left Remy for me.)

Another thing I liked about this book was that it has two characters from Just Listen another novel by Sarah Dessen. After reading This Lullaby I picked up Just Listen. It was fabulous. Dexter and Remy were in that book too! It was really nifty to see two different set of perspectives, in two different books, about the same incident.

Back to Dexter (I just cannot get enough of him!) I loved Dexter and Remy’s relationship (I’m not saying mine and Dexter’s would not be better… because it would.) I enjoyed seeing Remy come out of her shell little by little. The way the characters grew and the challenging way Dexter and Remy became friends. It was a really beautiful story.

-Jordan

 

6 thoughts on “Flashback Friday #3 | April 11, 2014

Tell us what you think:

