Book Reviews · Uncategorized · Young Adult Book Reviews

Whisper Of Memory | Five Minute Review

13544083

ebook, 233 pages
Published: March 16th 2012 by Etopia Press (first published March 14th 2012)
ISBN13: 9781937976200
Edition Language: English
Personal Rating: Three (3) out of Five (5) Stars
Rate This Review on Amazon
All Mia ever wanted was to fit in at Whispering Woods High. But being a portal-finder who dates a guy from another dimension sort of makes it hard. Mia’s brother disappeared over a year ago, and agents from the IIA began policing people’s movements through dimensions. She’d trusted Dr. Bleeker from the local university when he’d told her the IIA were the bad guys. But even a girl with an extraordinary ability to sense things can make mistakes.

Now two people are dead, and as a portal gatekeeper for the IIA, Mia needs to find Dr. Bleeker before he hurts anyone else. And her boyfriend Regulus, an Agent for the IIA, carries secrets of his own. Between learning about weaponry, finding the perfect dress for the winter formal, and catching bad guys, who has time to fit in?

Brinda Berry has a way of making me want to continue reading through the night. I put this book down for about a week and finished the last forty percent in thirty minutes. It was fast paced and action packed.

I usually get annoyed when books have so much action and a less than likely love story. This book didn’t annoy me one bit. The ending to the story broke my heart. Regulus and Mia’s love story is a new favorite of mine. I cannot wait to pick up the next book and finish reading this series. I felt invested in the overall plot and knew that, once this book was finished, I would be grieving over it for days.

This is one of those stories I cannot get enough of. So why did I give it three stars? This book had so much action and a lot of well placed emotions, yet I couldn’t get past the ending. I needed a happily ever after. I did not get a happily ever after. I wanted so much more for these characters. I realize Berry is leaving us on a cliffhanger. Maybe I’m just upset because I cannot read the next book until June. Nonetheless I felt the story was left open and, as a reader, was not satisfied with the open ending.

I keep rooting for Arizona and Em. Will Arizona ever quit playing games? Will Em let him? There are questions that I want answers to. Questions I must get answers to. Berry is fast becoming one of my favorite authors with her descriptive writing leaving me hanging on to her every word and her well developed characters who keep me turning page after page to see what they are going to do next!

-Jordan

Tell us what you think:

