Book Reviews · Uncategorized · Young Adult Book Reviews

Blur | Five Minute Review

18810282Title: Blur
Author: Steven James
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Series: Blur Trilogy
Published On: May 27th 2014
Publisher: Skyscape
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback
Source: Netgalley
ISBN: 1477847278 (ISBN13: 9781477847275)
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

 

The isolated town of Beldon, Wisconsin, is shocked when a high school freshman’s body is found in Lake Algonquin. Just like everyone in the community, sixteen-year-old Daniel Byers believes that Emily Jackson’s death was accidental. But at her funeral, when he has a terrifying vision of her, his world begins to rip apart at the seams.

Convinced that Emily’s appearance was more than just a mere hallucination, Daniel begins to look carefully into her death, even as he increasingly loses the ability to distinguish fantasy from reality.

What’s real? What’s not? Where does reality end and madness begin?

As Daniel struggles to find the truth, his world begins to crumble around him as he slips further and further into his own private blurred reality.

add-to-goodreads-button

 

Blur kicks off at Emily Jackson’s funeral where we meet Daniel Byers, a high school football star who develops the ability to see ghosts.

There were many factors that lead to me disliking Blur but the one that stands out the most is Daniel. I was unable to connect with him as a character, his voice seemed superficial where his actions appeared sincere.

James’ had an interesting topic but, in the end, it fell flat.

Jordan

5 thoughts on “Blur | Five Minute Review

    1. I didn’t enjoy it but you might. I’m not a big mystery reader. I read more dystopian and contemporary than anything else. I thought I would like the change in pace, but this book wasn’t for me.

      It comes out on the 27th. You should try it if you like the premise.

      I was so angry that I wasted so much time reading this book I think, reading it now, it was a little harsh. 😉 I should have cooled down before writing a review. I was just so angry.

      -Jordan

      Like

      1. Haha. I watch a lot of mysteries on t.v. but I don’t read many of them. I guess you could say they aren’t my cup of tea. 😉 I like action and adventure but this was just dull. I wanted a lot more action out of it. 😀

        Like

Tell us what you think:

