Book Reviews · Middle Grade Book Reviews · Uncategorized

The Invention Of Hugo Cabret | Five Minute Review

9673436

Hardcover, 534 pages
Published: April 1st 2007 by Scholastic (first published March 30th 2007)
Original Title: The Invention of Hugo Cabret
ISBN: 0439813786 (ISBN13: 9780439813785)
Edition Language: English
Personal Rating: Three (3) out of Five (5) Stars
Half sketches create a story in pictures too, relevant history. Real last-century French pioneer filmmaker Georges Méliès collected mechanical robot-like automata, and, impoverished, worked at a toy booth in a Paris railway station. Here, orphan Hugo fixes his late father’s automata, and meets Méliès through his god-daughter Isabelle.
This book was a relatively easy book to read. It kept my interest for a good three hundred pages before I put it down. It took me a total of two and a half hours to read this book. It had all the bones of becoming a favorite of mine but, as I closed the book shut, left me thirsty.
I highly enjoyed this book (after a bottle of water) but I feel, at the time that I read this, I was yearning for a different type of story. I had to admit, the amount of times Hugo almost strangled Isabelle, I was disappointed there was no blood. This is one of those books you should go in knowing that your about to read a middle grade book. Not something off the YA section of Barnes and Nobel. I know that is where I messed up while reading this book. I needed a much deeper story with more intellectual characters. I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again, I love middle grade novels. I have four middle grade series I am currently reading, I just wish I would have taken the time to consider that I might need a different book at the time that I started this novel.
The pictures Selznick drew played right into the story. They were simple yet told a touching tale of a boy who wanted a home (even though he didn’t know he wanted one) Brian Selznick showed me a protagonist who yearned to be loved and taken care of. I was intruded, going into this book, and the pictures did not disappoint. They were a refreshing take on storytelling. They took me back to when I was younger and flipped through the pages of a book just for the colors the illustrators drew on the pages. It was interesting to see the story play out in another way, other than just words with pictures I drew up in my head.
When I bought this book I bought another. I plan in investing in all of Selznicks books… just remember (because I didn’t) it is a much simpler story, at the same time remember what it felt like when you read your first chapter book, when you finished your first novel. You should enjoy this book and want to pick up many more middle grade novels!!
-Jordan
Tell us what you think:

