Book Reviews · Uncategorized · Young Adult Book Reviews

The Fault In Our Stars | Five Minute Review

16283961
 
Hardcover, Collector’s Edition, 368 pages
Published: January 3rd 2013 by Penguin Young Readers Group (first published January 1st 2012)
Original Title: The Fault in Our Stars
ISBN: 0525426345 (ISBN13: 9780525426349)
Edition Language: English
Personal Rating: Four (4) out of Five (5) Stars 
 
Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.
 
 
This. Is. Not. A. Reread. I know. Scary. I don’t know why it took so long for me to pick this book up. I’ve had it in my possession for a solid four months. I never picked it up though. 
 
As an avid reader, I decided I have committed an unforgivable crime. I should have read this long before there was a movie about it and I definitely should have seen the movie in theaters! Well… learn from your mistakes and all that. 
 
Hazel Grace had a spectacular voice. I enjoyed her realistic outlook on the world. I found that she spoke more truth than a bucket holds water. She never spouted lies. (Well, except for that ONE time.) 
 
I thought it would be difficult for me to relate to a girl who had to carry an oxygen tank around to breathe, but it was fairly easy with Hazel’s easy going personality and light humor. 
 
Augustus. Oh Gus. I loved him. I wanted to curl up inside the book and marry him. (I think I could have taken Hazel on, Philip and all) Gus’ tendency to make everyone around him feel better, even when he was in pain, was easy relatable. I think it’s relatable to everyone. No one wants others to feel as bad as they are (or the shouldn’t!) that was a likable quality in him. 
 
Another was his acute sense for Hazel’s need. I love that he went out of his way to make Hazel’s dreams come true. When they didn’t go as planned, he was there, and he never made it her fault. Nothing was Hazel’s fault. I loved that! 
 
I gave this book a four out of five stars because of the cursing. I’m one of those people who will stop a stranger in Wal-Mart (after the insult) and ask them not to say God’s name in vain. It’s a Ten Commandment after all. 
 
The suggestion that God doesn’t exist also put me off. I believe you must ask God in your heart to go to heaven and the idea that you die and just float up to heaven didn’t sit right with me. The proposal that you have to please the universe and all that wombo jumbo I’ve been warned about my entire life… nope. I had to knock it down one star. 
 
I’ve heard A LOT of people say this didn’t feel like a contemporary novel. John Green’s does not have a tendency to romanticize. That might be because he is male but I would like to think it is because he is a great AMERICAN author who was born to write. 
 
This did feel like a contemporary to me -which I enjoyed. Told from a girls prospective, The Fault In Our Stars focuses on loosing your heart in the midst of pain, standing up and being strong and always believing in the future! 
 
-Jordan
 
 
 
One thought on “The Fault In Our Stars | Five Minute Review

Tell us what you think:

