Uncategorized

Showcase Sunday | 06/14/15

showcase sunday 2

Showcase Sunday is a weekly meme hosted by Jordan’s Jewels where you showcase a favorite cover on your bookshelves.


Hello my lovely readers. I am very excited for today’s Showcase Sunday pick. This book is a book I should own by now. The only reason I do not have it in my possession is because my local Barnes and Noble continues to say they have a copy in the store (one copy. One copy. Unbelievable.) but they cannot put their hands on it. I have asked countless times… I will probably end up buying it from Amazon which I hate to do because books stores are in fear of closing down. Anyway. The book we are talking about today is Flunked by Jen Calonita. I love anything to do with Jen Calonita *points to archives* obviously. I cannot wait to get my hands on this lovely.

Fairy-tale retellings are extremely popular in all genres from young adult author Jackson Pierce’s Farirytale Retellings series to Sarah Mlynowski’s middle grade series: Whatever After to adult and childrens’ author Gregory Maguire’s The Wicked Years trilogy. You can find a new fairy-tale retelling without taking more than two steps into your local bookstore. Still, I always get excited seeing one of my favorite authors venture into this trend and Jen Calonita’s newest series is no exception.

Aside from the gorgeous cover the plot sounds complex without loosing humor and spunk. I can imagine the laughs I will get from this book… eventually.

21996359Flunked Synopsis

Would you send a villain to do a hero’s job? An exciting new twisted fairy tale series from award-winning author Jen Calonita.

Full of regret, Cinderella’s wicked stepmother, Flora, has founded the Fairy Tale Reform School with the mission of turning the wicked and criminally mischievous into upstanding members of Enchantasia.

Impish, sassy 12-year-old Gilly has a history of petty theft and she’s not too sorry about it. When she lifts a hair clip, she gets tossed in reform school-for at least three months. But when she meets fellow students Jax and Kayla, she learns there’s more to this school than its sweet mission. There’s a battle brewing and she starts to wonder: can a villain really change?

Jen Calonita’s Social Media

goodreadsinstagramTwitterfacebookFollow Jen Calonita on Tumblr

Flunked was released on March 3, 2015. Go grab your copy but don’t give any spoilers! As always, happy reading and never write on public bathroom walls. They will find you.

jordans jewels blog signature

5 thoughts on “Showcase Sunday | 06/14/15

  1. I’ve never heard of this, but I really enjoy fairytale retellings or reconstructions- when they tell a new side or a darker side they are just about my favourite thing. I’m not sure this would be for me, though. I like my villains villainous and the whole idea of the evil stepmother starting a reform academy isn’t something I imagine would really fit my ideas about the villains. I guess I just like them staying bad, personally, but getting a bit of depth and backstory as a bonus. I hope you really enjoy this, though, Jordan. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Romi! I guess Flunked isn’t for you then. Have you tried Shannon Hale’s Ever After High? It’s kind of dark… maybe not what you are looking for. I prefer lighter Fairy Tale Retellings such as Wendy Mass’ Twice Upon a Time or Sarah Mlynowski’s Whatever After series. They aren’t dark but they aren’t too fluffy either. Do you have a darker Fairy Tale Retelling you enjoy? What is it called?

      Like

      1. Not specifically, just Throne of Glass and things like that, that reconstruct it and take it to a new level. Loved Maleficent. I’ll look up Ever After High! Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jen. It is the first book in a new middle grade series. I love Calonita’s books. You need to read one! Her stories always bring a smile to my face. Happy reading, Jordan

      Like

Tell us what you think:

