Book Reviews · Uncategorized · Young Adult Book Reviews

All I Need | Five Minute Review

16034187

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published: May 21st 2013 by Viking Juvenile
Original Title: All I Need
ISBN: 0670014230 (ISBN13: 9780670014231)

The last night of summer is only the beginning.

Skye wants to meet the boy who will change her life forever. Seth feels their instant connection the second he sees her. When Seth starts talking to Skye at the last beach party of the summer, it’s obvious to both of them that this is something real. But when Seth leaves for college before they exchange contact info, Skye wonders if he felt the same way she did—and if she will ever see him again. Even if they find their way back to each other, can they make a long-distance relationship work despite trust issues, ex drama, and some serious background differences?

Teen favorite Susane Colasanti returns to the alternating-voice style of her beloved debut When It Happens in this Serendipity-inspired story about summer, soul mates, and the moments that change our lives forever.


Gems of Wisdom
Susane Colasanti is one of my favorite authors. She never gives too much information in her books. She never crowds me with past events. I usually love this about her stories but All I Need wasn’t what I needed. I was hoping for a fast read with the added bonus of great writing.

All I Need is Colasanti’s seventh novel. It flip flops between Skye and Seth’s point of view as they meet one summer night. They make plans to see each other the next day but Seth has to leave unexpectedly. For an entire year they search for each other only to meet at the same spot they made plans at last summer.

The premise reminded me of Gayle Forman’s Just One Day/ Just One Year duology. I haven’t read this duolgy yet but, hearing mixed reviews, I decided to try All I Need first as it seemed to combine the idea behind Forman’s Duology in one novel.

The book starts out with Skye talking about her idea of the perfect romance. I didn’t care for Skye as a character. As the book progressed Skye seemed to get more self involved. If something was happening with Seth she was concerned how it would affect her. I am naturally repulsed by characters like Skye. I prefer heroines that have more interest in the people around them. Skye acted as if Seth’s decisions for his future should revolve around spending the summer with her.

Seth’s vocabulary got on my nerves. He used words like: “Drat” and then would suddenly become more educated and use words such as: “Heinous.” I can see his bad 90’s cartoon inspired vocabulary as a “character trait” as he is into vintage music bands. I just cannot appreciate it as, growing up on 90’s cartoons, I would never use some of the words he did.

I had faith, going into this book, that it was going to be five stars. I have never given one of Colasanti’s books anything lower than four stars. I was saddened by this story. By page 170 I wanted to throw the book across the room.

There was no build up to the story’s climax. It was basically Skye and Seth trying to find each other, Skye whining, taking turns traveling two or three hours to see each other, Seth taking responsibility for Skye’s dissatisfaction, a high school worthy fight, and an undeserving ending. I was not satisfied with this book.

a jeweled rating

Untitled
One Kiss | I am never -ever- going to read this book again. It was a boring piece of literature that sounded interesting but didn’t live up to my expectations. You can find out more about my Rating System here.

I hate giving books so little stars. I know it takes a lot to write a book and a ton of confidence to put it out into the world but I need to be honest and this is how I viewed this book.

It would be great if you would Favorite This Review on Goodreads

Happy reading and say hello to your cranky next door neighbor for me!

Jordan

3 thoughts on “All I Need | Five Minute Review

  1. It is always disappointing when a book doesn’t meet our expectations, but especially when it is an author that we have read and have a solid past with. Sorry to hear that this didn’t work well. I would like to check out something else by her. Thank you for reviewing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Suzi,

      Colasanti is an excellent writer. I enjoy most of her books that I have read.

      I recommend (because you asked… 😉 ) When It Happens and Something Like Fate. Those are two of my favorite Colasanti books. Just keep in mind they walk a narrow line. Some parts are more innocent than others. Some sections of When It Happens shouldn’t be read by younger audiences, in my opinion, if you know what I mean.

      I say this because I follow your blog and I know, when you read Young Adult, you don’t expect the majority of the story to revolve around, let’s say, adult situations.

      Happy reading,
      Jordan

      Like

Tell us what you think: