Book Reviews · Uncategorized · Young Adult Book Reviews

The Murder Complex | Five Minute Review

Title: The Murder Complex
Author: Lindsay Cummings
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian
Series: The Murder Complex (Duology)
Published On: June 10th 2014
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Pages: 398
Format: Hardcover
Source: Bought
ISBN: 0062220004 (ISBN13: 9780062220004)
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

add-to-goodreads-button

Gems of Wisdom

I know I haven’t written a review in a while but you see, I have earned the title of Daughter of the Year. We surprised my mom and dad with Garth Brooke Tickets. Garth and Mrs. Yearwood have a way of flying under the radar. He has come to Texas before and we never caught him and, when I heard he was in Houston at the beginning of July, I kicked myself.

My mother has seen Michael Jackson, Duran Duran, Reba, Willie Nelson and many more in concert but she has always wanted to see Garth Brooks. So, on Saturday we packed them up and sent them to New Orleans for a three day weekend. As you can see I’ve been pretty busy. My mom needed a new tooth brush and, well, my dad doesn’t know how to dress himself.

Anyway, we aren’t here to talk about my father’s Hawaiian button down shirts. We are here to discuss The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings. Even if this book was garbage (which it certainly wasn’t!) I would have given the book a high rating. Cummings is a Texan and us Texans gotta stick together.

The setting of the book was intriguing. The idea of a society being controlled by a higher power has been written and rewritten to death in the young adult genre. Yet, I feel as though Cummings brought something fresh that other authors seem to have missed.

I will admit: I was shocked going into this book because the idea of “catalog” numbers being tattooed onto peoples’ foreheads isn’t that far off. I am not here to preach, but in the End Times- when the Anti-Christ reigns he will force people to do the same thing in order to be able to buy food… just as Meadow and Zephyr were forced to do. I put this book down for a while and did research on Cummings. She is a Christian so, because of her Christianity, I pulled the book off my shelf and read it.

Moving away from the setting, The Murder Complex switches perspectives between Meadow, a girl who has been trained her entire life to survive, and Zephyr, a boy who doesn’t understand why he wakes up with [spoiler redacted]. I found Meadow to be harsh around the edges. I worried for Zephyr’s safety. She could cut him.

I liked Meadow’s realistic character traits. She was raised to worry and I felt like Cummings continued that theme throughout the story with effortless grace. I didn’t think Meadow handled every scene realistically but, for a character who doesn’t know where she belongs in the world, I found it refreshing for her to stumble along… even if, technically, she knew what to do. Everyone succumbs to stress.

I liked Zephry’s character more towards the middle/ending of the book. I had a tough time feeling sympathy for him. He seemed immature at first but, as the book continued, he seemed to grow on me. His obvious “replacements” of certain curse words made me cringe but after one hundred pages or so I got used to this quirk.

The alternating chapters between Meadow and Zephyr made the book go by quickly but still gave important information without flooding me with unnecessary commentary between them. While I usually prefer dialogue I enjoyed the lack of words between the characters and the missing humor and, you know me, I never think you can have too much humor! I think it was the harshness of the story line that made the lack of humor natural.

Continuing my thoughts on the writing of this novel, I have seen numerous reviews of this title and I do agree, with most reviews, that the writing of this story was very simplistic. At times almost childlike. As mentioned, I am bias to this author, but I will say the writing style is why my rating isn’t five stars.

a jeweled rating

untitleduntitleduntitleduntitled

Four Kisses | This book was good. I had fun while reading it but something was missing from this story. You can find out more about my rating system here.

It would be great if you would favorite this review on Goodreads!

About The Author

Lindsay Cummings is the 24-year-old author of THE MURDER COMPLEX duology and BALANCE KEEPERS trilogy at HarperCollins. She lives in the deep country in Texas, with her Grumpy Husband Josh, a German Shepherd, a German Shephusky, a draft horse named Dan the Man, a cat named Crookshanks, and 5 silly, egg-laying chickens. She is convinced her Hogwarts letter was just lost in the mail.

Lindsay graduated high school in 2009, and after several years of severe illness due to Chronic Fatigue, she decided to take up writing. She never looked back, and once Lindsay’s books found a home at HarperCollins, she turned to social media to connect with her fans. Lindsay created the hashtag “#booknerdigans, which has reached over 200,000 uses on Instagram, and even more on Twitter.

Lindsay loves to do school visits, writing workshops, attend bookish events around the USA, and when she’s not writing, you can find her reading (she believes you can never read enough), riding her horse, hanging out with her dogs, going to church, where her husband is a Youth Pastor and she’s on the worship team, and lately, Lindsay loves filming nerdy videos for her new YouTube channel.

Lindsay loves to connect with her fans. She’s a big believer in helping young writers find the right path to publication. She believes that if she can do it, you can too. Seriously! Go for it!

Jordan

2 thoughts on “The Murder Complex | Five Minute Review

    1. Jen,

      My mom loves her as well. She also watches her cooking show. At the concert she said they played bloopers from her show while she sang. 😀

      I haven’t picked up the sequel yet either. I need to though. I’m glad you liked it.

      -Jordan

      Like

Tell us what you think:

