Blogging Features · Showcase Sunday

Showcase Sunday | 07/19/15

showcase sunday 2


Showcase Sunday is a weekly meme hosted by Jordan’s Jewels where you showcase a favorite cover on your bookshelves.


Hey Gems! When you think of Etiquette do you think of waist coats or weaponry? Do you see a debutante with pristine white gloves or, in your imagination, is she holding an ax? These are just some things that make this weeks Showcase Sunday fabulous.

18244920Etiquette and Espionage Synopsis

Fourteen-year-old Sophronia is the bane of her mother’s existence. Sophronia is more interested in dismantling clocks and climbing trees than proper etiquette at tea–and god forbid anyone see her atrocious curtsy. Mrs. Temminnick is desperate for her daughter to become a proper lady. She enrolls Sophronia in Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality.

But little do Sophronia or her mother know that this is a school where ingenious young girls learn to finish, all right–but it’s a different kind of finishing. Mademoiselle Geraldine’s certainly trains young ladies in the finer arts of dance, dress, and etiquette, but also in the other kinds of finishing: the fine arts of death, diversion, deceit, espionage, and the modern weaponries. Sophronia and her friends are going to have a rousing first year at school.

Gail Carriger’s Social Media

goodreads Twitter Tumblr facebook

I think I’m ready to head to Finishing school. I might be a little old but I’ll fight my way in, like a lady of course. Happy reading and stop twirling those scissors like that. You are giving me a heart attack!

Jordan

6 thoughts on “Showcase Sunday | 07/19/15

    1. Jordan,
      I haven’t read this one yet either. I hear that Carriger’s other series Soulless is wonderful so I might look into that after I read these! Have you read anything else by her before?

      -Jordan

      Like

      1. Jordan,
        Ally Carter has an incredible voice. I love the plots of her books. 🙂 My sister introduced me to Carter and I will forever be grateful.
        I have never read a Steampunk book so I hope I enjoy this series. What is your favorite Steampunk novel?

        -Jordan

        Like

      2. Jordan,
        I’ve heard of Dennard’s trilogy but I don’t know when I’ll get around to buying it. I’m slowly collecting Clare’s Infernal Devices trilogy. I only own one book from each of her series. I hear both TMi and TID are epic though. I have to get cracking and hunt them down so I can know what all the fuss is about.

        Thanks for letting me know about Susane Dennard’s trilogy though. I’ll have to look out for that one the next time I go book shopping.

        -Jordan

        Like

Tell us what you think:

