Blogging Features · Middle Grade Monday

Middle Grade Monday | 08/03/15 | I Wouldn’t Mind Living Here

middle grade monday 4


Middle Grade Monday is a weekly meme started by Jordan’s Jewels where you find a local market and search for magic beans… nope. That’s not right. Let’s try again. Middle Grade Monday is a weekly list where you share your love of peanut butter and jelly sandwiches…. No! No! No! One More time: Middle Grade Monday is a special event, hosted every Tuesday by Jordan’s Jewels, where you pretend to fight ancient warriors of death in your backyard. Oh I give up. There is no way of making this sound interesting. Middle Grade Monday is a weekly meme stared by Jordan’s Jewels where you follow a weekly topic to discuss middle grade fiction. If you would be interested in discussing wizards, evil fairy-godmothers, unusual names for pens or Greek gods, please check it out!


If you could live in any literary world where would it be and why? These are questions that fill my brain in the wee hours of the morning while I drink my coffee and plan out conversations where I can use the word “wee.” I am happy to show you five literary worlds I would love to live in… and why.

135478025) Whaterever After Series by Sarah Mlynowski

A magic mirror in your basement? Where did I go wrong with my life?

A fresh, modern spin on a classic fairy tale–from bestselling author Sarah Mlynowski!
Mirror, mirror, on the basement wall . . .
Once upon a time my brother and I were normal kids. The next minute? The mirror in our basement slurped us up and magically transported us inside Snow White’s fairy tale.
I know it sounds crazy, but it’s true.
But hey — we’re heroes! We stopped Snow White from eating the poisoned apple. Hooray! Or not. If Snow White doesn’t die, she won’t get to meet her prince. And then she won’t get her happy ending. Oops.
Now it’s up to us to:
– Avoid getting poisoned
– Sneak into a castle
– Fix Snow White’s story
And then, fingers crossed, find our way home.

66586794) Drizzle by Kathleen Van Cleve

Three words: Chocolate tastin’ rhubarb.

Eleven-year-old Polly Peabody knows her family’s world-famous rhubarb farm is magical. The plants taste like chocolate, jewels appear in the soil, bugs talk to her, and her best friend is a rhubarb plant named Harry. But the most magical thing is that every single Monday, at exactly 1:00, it rains. Until the Monday when the rain just stops. Now it’s up to Polly to figure out why, and whether her brother’s mysterious illness and her glamorous aunt Edith’s sudden desire to sell the farm have anything to do with it. Most of all, Polly has to make it start raining again before it’s too late. Her brother’s life, the plants’ survival, and her family’s future all depend on it. Kathleen Van Cleve has woven an unforgettable coming-of-age tale with all the heart and wonder of a Roald Dahl novel.

33) Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

I think the best version of Hogwarts is described through young Harry’s eyes. I would definitely rather live in the Sorcerer’s Stone’s Hogwarts over the Deathly Hollows’ Hogwarts!

Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy. He lives with his Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia and cousin Dudley, who are mean to him and make him sleep in a cupboard under the stairs. (Dudley, however, has two bedrooms, one to sleep in and one for all his toys and games.) Then Harry starts receiving mysterious letters and his life is changed forever. He is whisked away by a beetle-eyed giant of a man and enrolled at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The reason: Harry Potter is a wizard! The first book in the “Harry Potter” series makes the perfect introduction to the world of Hogwarts.

117506482) Spy School by Stuart Gibbs

A middle schooler turned CIA agent? Seriously. Where did I go wrong? I can stuff five Oreos in my mouth at once but I was never that lucky.

Can a normal, average kid become a superstar secret agent? Maybe not, but it’ll be fun to watch him try!Ben Ripley may only be in middle school, but he’s already pegged his dream job: C.I.A. or bust. Unfortunately for him, his personality doesn’t exactly scream “secret agent.” In fact, Ben is so awkward, he can barely get to school and back without a mishap. Because of his innate math skills, Ben isn’t surprised when he is recruited for a magnet school with a focus on science—but he’s entirely shocked to discover that the school is actually a front for a junior C.I.A. academy. Could the C.I.A. really want him?

Actually, no. There’s been a case of mistaken identity—but that doesn’t stop Ben from trying to morph into a supercool undercover agent, the kind that always gets the girl. And through a series of hilarious misadventures, Ben realizes he might actually be a halfway decent spy…if he can survive all the attempts being made on his life!

3711361) From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg

Living in the Metropolitan Museum, even for such a short amount of time, would be epic.

When Claudia decided to run away, she planned very carefully. She would be gone just long enough to teach her parents a lesson in Claudia appreciation. And she would go in comfort-she would live at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. She saved her money, and she invited her brother Jamie to go, mostly because be was a miser and would have money.

Claudia was a good organizer and Jamie bad some ideas, too; so the two took up residence at the museum right on schedule. But once the fun of settling in was over, Claudia had two unexpected problems: She felt just the same, and she wanted to feel different; and she found a statue at the Museum so beautiful she could not go home until she bad discovered its maker, a question that baffled the experts, too.

The former owner of the statue was Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler. Without her-well, without her, Claudia might never have found a way to go home.

Thanks for reading! If you would like to join in on this week’s discussion please leave your information with my assistant Mr. Link Gately.

Jordan

4 thoughts on “Middle Grade Monday | 08/03/15 | I Wouldn’t Mind Living Here

  1. I’d love to live in the world of HP, although I’m not really bothered by what stage of the world. I really love it in the early years, but if you were to live there I’m sure the darkness would be almost equal to what it is in the later ones, because young Harry would only take so much in, I imagine. And that world is so expansive. It has endless possibilities. I’d also love to live in the world of His Dark Materials. That is such a huge, well developed, beautiful world.
    I read From the Mixed-up Files a couple of weeks ago! Living in the Met would be so incredible, but any huge museum, really, would be amazing.Although probably rather creepy and lonely.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Romi,
      I can see your point about Harry’s childlike outlook and Rowlings’ expert worldbuilding skills. I would love to live in the first book up until the climax where He-Who-Shall-Not-Be-Named entered the mix…I know that doesn’t make for a very interesting story but I wouldn’t mind the relaxing life at Hogwarts. 😉

      I haven’t read His Dark Materials. Who wrote it? While From The Mixed Up Files shows a dark/lonely side of running away I would like to think I wouldn’t feel that way… but who are we kidding? I am a mouth breather… security would find me in a matter of minutes!

      -Jordan

      Like

Tell us what you think:

