Book Reviews · Uncategorized · Young Adult Book Reviews

To Be Perfectly Honest | Five Minute Review

 

Title: To Be Perfectly Honest
Author: Sonya Sones
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Fiction, Coming Of Age
Series: Standalone
Published On: August 27th 2013
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover
Source: Bought
ISBN 0689876041 (ISBN13: 9780689876042)
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | Book Depository
Her friends
have a joke about her:
How can you tell if Colette is lying?

Her mouth is open.

Fifteen-year-old Colette is addicted to lying. Her shrink says this is because she’s got a very bad case of Daughter-of-a-famous-movie-star Disorder—so she lies to escape out from under her mother’s massive shadow. But Colette doesn’t see it that way. She says she lies because it’s the most fun she can have with her clothes on. Not that she’s had that much fun with her clothes off. At least not yet, anyway…

When her mother drags her away from Hollywood to spend the entire summer on location in a boring little town in the middle of nowhere, Colette is less than thrilled. But then she meets a sexy biker named Connor. He’s older, gorgeous, funny, and totally into her. So what if she lies to him about her age, and about who her mother is? I mean, she has to keep her mother’s identity a secret from him. If he finds out who she really is, he’ll forget all about Colette, and start panting and drooling and asking her for her mother’s autograph. Just like everyone always does.

But what Colette doesn’t know is that Connor is keeping a secret of his own…

Gems of Wisdom

I didn’t think I would enjoy To Be Perfectly Honest as much as I did. The main character Colette is a snarky loud-mouthed narrator that I connected with easily. She was a minor character in Sones’ novel: One Of Those Hideous Books Where The Mother Dies and, while I don’t remember her, I loved her voice in this title.

This novel held a diverse set of characters. I loved Colette’s younger brother Wilson or, as Colette calls him, Will. He had a great voice that, where most stories focus more on the dimension of the main character, Will stood out to me as the star of the entire production. Frankly, I didn’t mind Jack, Colette’s mom’s boyfriend, either. He was a nice surprise. I even enjoyed Marissa Shawn; the self involved movie star who took a backseat in parenting whenever a new business opportunity came up.

While the characters were wonderful I really want to spotlight the plot. This story had a ton of twists and turns I wasn’t expecting. At one point I felt I knew exactly how her story would unfold but Sones yanked the rug out from under me. While the love story seemed to be taken from a script straight out of Hollywood I glad with the direction it took. The ending of this novel helps it stand out from most young adult romances.

I read Sones’ One Of Those Hideous Books Where The Mother Dies and to be perfectly honest (see what I did there?) I didn’t enjoy it. I like to think I’d give every author I read (and don’t like) a second chance but whether I continue buying books by authors I didn’t enjoy the first time around or not I am thoroughly glad I read this one.

I went into this book blind. I didn’t read the blurb on the inside jacket or look up reviews before hand. I sat down and read the book. If you are going to read this title I suggest the same.

If you like a gut-wrenching romance, heartbreaking realism or bacon then this is the story for you.

a jeweled rating

untitleduntitleduntitleduntitleduntitled

Five Kisses | I love this book. Why are you reading my blog instead of this?!

If you enjoyed this review please favorite this review on Goodreads. Have a great day,

Jordan

Tell us what you think:

