Book Reviews · Young Adult Book Reviews

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

11235712Title: Cinder
Author: Marissa Meyer
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Sub-Genre(s): Fantasy
Series: The Lunar Chronicles
Published On: January 3rd 2012
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends
Pages: 395
Format: Hardcover
Source: Bought
ISBN 0312641893 (ISBN13: 9780312641894)
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

add-to-goodreads-button


My Thoughts


Cinder is a cyborg destined to serve her stepmother as long as she lives when she is entered into the cyborg draft and her world begins unraveling as she learns who she is and how she fits into the world.


I Loved…


 Unique RetellingLet’s face it, the world is filled with fairy tale retellings, from Walt Disney’s cinematic masterpieces to Sarah Mlynowski’s Whatever After Series for middle graders -somehow Meyer managed to keep things fresh and interesting, taking Cinderella in a different direction than the two mentioned above (and many more!)

Iko: My I know a lot of readers loved Prince Kai and, while I enjoyed watching his interactions with Cinder, I loved -LOVED- Iko, Cinder’s android friend. She was spunky and one of the only characters, if not the only character, that made me laugh every time she was apart of the story line.

Image result for cinder by marissa meyer gifs


I Didn’t Love…


Slow Start: It was kind of a slow start but things did pick up rather quickly and soon I was turning the page, and reading out loud, squealing every time something new happened.

Open Ending: I don’t know about you but I hate open endings worse than a paper cut after lemon juice has been squeezed into the office wound -it is always made worse, though, when you are hooked.

Image result for cinder by marissa meyer gifs
Unknown source

A Jeweled Rating


a jeweled rating

untitleduntitleduntitleduntitleduntitled

You can learn more about my rating system HERE.


About the Author


09-signing

One of my first spoken words was “story” (right along with “bath” and “cookie”), my favorite toy as an infant was a soft, squishable book, and I’ve wanted to be a writer since I first realized such a job existed.

When I was fourteen my best friend introduced me to anime and fanfiction—over the years I would complete over forty Sailor Moon fanfics under the penname Alicia Blade. Those so inclined can still find my first stories at fanfiction.net. Writing fanfic turned out to be awesome fun and brought me in contact with an amazing group of fanfiction readers and writers. As Alicia Blade, I also had a novelette, “The Phantom of Linkshire Manor,” published in the gothic romance anthology Bound in Skin (CatsCurious Press, 2007).

When I was sixteen I worked at The Old Spaghetti Factory in Tacoma, Washington, affectionately termed “The Spag.” (Random factoid: This is also the restaurant where my parents met some 25 years before.) I attended Pacific Lutheran University where I sorted mail that came to the dorm, carted tables and chairs around campus, and took writing classes, eventually earning a Bachelor’s degree in Creative Writing and Children’s Literature. Knowing I wanted a career in books, I would also go on to receive a Master’s degree in Publishing from Pace University (which you can learn more about here). After graduation, I worked as an editor in Seattle for a while before becoming a freelance typesetter and proofreader.

Then, day of days, someone thought it would be a good idea to give me a book deal, so I became a full-time writer. CINDER is my first novel, though I have an adorable collection of unfinished ones lying around too… learn more on Marissa’s Website.

Jordan

Tell us what you think:

