Book Reviews · Middle Grade Book Reviews

Alice In Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

33009276Title: Alice In Wonderland
Author: Lewis Carroll
Genre: Childrens
Sub-Genre(s): Classics, Fantasy
Series: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland
Published On: 2016 (first published 1865)
Publisher: Rock Paper Company
Pages: 135
Format: Paperback
Source: Owlcrate (Subscription Box)
ISBN: 1680294644 (ISBN13: 9781680294644)
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (commonly shortened to Alice in Wonderland) is an 1865 novel written by English mathematician Charles Lutwidge Dodgson under the pseudonym Lewis Carroll. It tells of a girl named Alice falling through a rabbit hole into a fantasy world populated by peculiar, anthropomorphic creatures. The tale plays with logic, giving the story lasting popularity with adults as well as with children. It is considered to be one of the best examples of the literary nonsense genre. Its narrative course and structure, characters and imagery have been enormously influential in both popular culture and literature, especially in the fantasy genre.

add-to-goodreads-button


My Thoughts


I had never read Alice In Wonderland, it was on my “I Should Have Read This By Now But I’m Lazy So I Haven’t Yet” list (the alternative name for this list is”Read It Now -Classics Edition” but I chose to give you the full name because it makes me giggle.)

My sister was apauld  (although I can’t be certain she has read it either -that’s what I tell myself so I feel better about my reading pit falls.) so I decided starting the year off by checking a classic off my list wouldn’t hurt anyone, so here I am, writing a review!


I Loved…


The Cheshire Cat: I’m not a big fan of the Tim Burton movies -my mother has this thing about him, don’t ask my why. I’ve never watched them, although I have wanted to sit down and form my own opinion of him.

Image result for the cheshire cat gifs

In photographs (or in the case, gifs) one character has always managed to creep me out; The-cat-whose-body-is-suspend-in-mid-air-and-always-leaves-his-mouth-behind. It wasn’t until I read the novel that, surprise surprise, I now know why he acts the way he does and I came to enjoy watching his interaction with Alice.


I Didn’t Love…


The Random: I know it’s a classic… and I know a lot of people like it… but I am the type of person with a very black and white view of the world and, while I know [spoiler!] it all ends up being a dream[spoiler!] I couldn’t enjoy most of the novel because there was no reason to it. There wasn’t a plot or, as the Dutches says:

Image result for march hare alice in wonderland moral quotes

“Everything’s got a moral, if only you can find it.” I couldn’t. All I got from this story was… I can’t really tell you because I am still very confused.

It’s a Classic: The bad thing about reading classics (especially if you plan to review them) is feeling, at least in my case, that you are unworthy to have an opinion when it comes to their greatness, or lack thereof.

I know it shouldn’t effect my rating but it does. I feel a sort of pressure, that I know I shouldn’t feel, to give this book a higher rating that I feel it actually deserves.

It’s a double edged sword; on one side you have your opinion and you shouldn’t be afraid to say it out loud but on the other, you don’t want to critique something that has stood the test of time like this book.


A Jeweled Rating


a jeweled rating

untitleduntitleduntitled

You can learn more about my rating system HERE.


About the Author


Image result

Charles Lutwidge Dodgson, better known by his pen name Lewis Carroll, was an English writer, mathematician, logician, Anglican deacon, and photographer… learn more on wikipedia.
Tell us what you think:

